Prof. Xiaohong Zhang

Professor, President

Dr. Zhang focuses on organic/nanostructured optoelectronic materials and their applications, including 1) organic single crystals and optoelectronic devices, 2) intermolecular charge-transfer materials for TADF-OLEDs, and 3) silicon micro/nano-structures and their applications in optoelectronics and energy conversions.

He has received a number of prestigious honors and awards internationally and nationally, such as Prize for Scientific and Technological Progress of Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation (2023), Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2019), Second-Class Prize in State Natural Science Award (the first achiever), Distinguished Professor of Changjiang Scholars Program (2014), Recipient of National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars of NSFC (2008), Election to the National "Ten Thousand Talent Program" (2017), Chief Scientist of National Program on Key Basic Research Project (2012), Recipient of Science Fund for Creative Research Groups of NSFC (2018), Recipient of State Council Special Allowance (2013), etc.

Team Profile

    We are focusing on the interdisciplinary researches among materials, chemistry, physics and theoretical calculations. Currently, the team is composed by five professors, one associate professor, one assistant professor, nine post-doctors, one lab technician and more than 40 postgraduates. Up to now, the team members have been awarded by many times, including one “973” Project Chief Scientist, one NSFC “Distinguished Young Scholars”, and two NSFC “Excellent Young Scholars”. Moreover, we have all the necessary research facilities to ensure the progress of the researches. Besides the public test platform provided by the university and the department, our lab have the necessary equipments for material synthesis and characterizations, optoelectronic device fabrication and characterizations, biomedical imaging and treatment and other common tests. 

    What’s more, our team has ample funding support which can ensure the smooth daily running of the group. In addition, we have established long-term cooperation and exchange programs with the research groups all over the world, such as the groups from the Cambridge University (UK), the California Institute of Technology (USA), the Waterloo University (Canada), the University of Western Ontario (Canada) and the Hong Kong City University (HK). Outstanding postgraduates would be financially supported for international cooperation researches in the aforementioned famous universities.